"I was determined that ABS-CBN would be number one. And to be number one , you have to get the number one people."
-EUGENIO L. LOPEZ, ABS-CBN Corporation Chairman Emeritus

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

ABS-CBN star, TV series receive Int'l Emmy nominations

Posted at 10/05/2010 12:20 PM | Updated as of 10/05/2010 4:03 PM

MANILA, Philippines - ABS-CBN contract star Sid Lucero and the network’s television series, "Dahil May Isang Ikaw," were named official nominees at the 38th International Emmy Awards.

The list of nominees for this year's International Emmy Awards was released Monday by the International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (IATAS).

Lucero's performance for "Dahil May Isang Ikaw" as Alfred "Red" Ramirez merited a nomination under the Best Performance by an Actor category.

On the other hand, the TV series, topbilled by Jericho Rosales and Kristine Hermosa, was nominated under the Telenovela category.

Lucero, now one of the lead stars of ABS-CBN's afternoon series "Alyna," is joined in the category by Bob Hoskins (United Kingdom), Sebastian Koch (Germany), and Leonardo Sbaraglia (Argentina).

Other nominees under the Telenovela category are "Ciega a Citas (Argentina)" and "My Love (Portugal).”

The lead stars of the now defunct TV series "Dahil May Isang Ikaw." Sid Lucero, who played supporting role in the TV soap, is one of the best actor nominees at the 38th International Emmy Awards.
A total of 39 nominees in 10 categories were announced Monday by the IATAS.

This year, only 2 nominees from the Philippines have made it to the list.

In 2009, there were 3 nominees from the Philippines, namely Angel Locsin, ABS-CBN's "Kahit Isang Saglit" and GMA 7’s “Magdusa Ka.” They were, however, unsuccessful in their bid to bring home the prizes.

This year's Special Award honorees include “American Idol” judge and “Got Talent” format executive producer Simon Cowell and “Saturday Night Live’ creator and executive producer Lorne Michaels.

Cowell will receive the 2010 International Emmy Founders Award, while the 2010 International Emmy Directorate Award will be conferred to Michaels.

The winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony on November 22 at the Hilton Hotel, New York. via

No comments:

Post a Comment